good morning, world

Image

i have found, as my life has gotten a little busier with three kids, that it is super important for me to get some quiet time in before the day gets going. i know ‘quiet time’ alone with God doesn’t have to be in the morning, but for me it really helps. it sets me right before we get started. and sometimes it sucks to drag my carcass up out of bed before everyone else, but you know what sucks worse?… having someone else wake you up. so you might as well do it on your own terms and set a good tone for the day, you know? when i’m at the country house i like to wake up, make my coffee, and then head out to the porch. there, i don’t do any reading, just meeting. no studies or anything, just getting my posture right. when i’m at the city house i like to do my bible study first thing. and it’s houston, so i’m totally not going outside. here’s a few tips to set yourself up for a good morning start:

  • clean up a little nook. now, i’m a total slob. that’s just a confession. and there are many nights that i go to bed without even doing my dishes. there, now you know. but  i just clear the table, put out my book and Bible, and my coaster and coffee cup, and there, i’ve created a comfortable little spot for myself.
  • set up the coffee the night before
  • ask God to help you wake up refreshed and quickly. i’ve never set my alarm clock to wake before the kids, He just wakes me up when it’s time.

anyway, i encourage you to try a little something special for tomorrow. find a routine that works for you and helps you greet the day, and your family, a little more gently. it makes a world of difference.

2 Comments on “good morning, world”

  1. Kori says:

    This summer I’ve been bringing my Bible up to bed with me and my kids know that I’m not a morning person and have to wake up slowly. So I just “pretend” I’m still waking up and have my quiet time right there in bed and they occupy themselves for a bit. Them watching a few more minutes of tv is totally worth me getting to start my day off on the right foot!

  2. I’m the same way with the waking up -I need to be up before Raeca, I need that time to get myself prepared for the day or else my whole day is off.


Say Hello!

