An Open Letter to Satan

Wait, but first an open letter to you… The last time I blogged I told you I wasn’t blogging anymore! By now you might have figured out that I’m a little flaky. I truly meant that blogging was not so good for me at the time and that I shouldn’t do it. But now I truly mean that I enjoy blogging and maybe I shouldn’t take it so seriously. So how about this?… I’ll just blog sometimes when I feel like it. It might just be for me or maybe you’ll find a gem somewhere in there. If I promise you that I’m going to do a series or blog everyday for 30 days or something like that, just straight up don’t believe me. I’m not fantastic at constraints like that. 🙂

Anyway, back to life. I am, oh yes, once again, struggling with the weigh roller coaster. It’s not that I am huge or anything, it’s actually more of how I feel and how I feel about myself. I just hate the struggle and the thought that I may have this battle raging forever. I feel so helpless sometimes like I’ll never defeat it. I spent some time praying about it this morning and God put this in my heart. No diet plan or anything, just truth, that I might not be defeated. That I can do battle and win if I just keep the faith and trust God to calm me.

Dear Satan (and your sorry minions),

As you well know, I’ve been struggling with poor eating choices for a long time. I really got my feelings hurt yesterday and I almost believed you when you said that I would never beat this. For this, I hope you feel a little guilty. Sorry… I do. Anyway, you should know that I took this up with Abba this morning and now I’m kind of pissed. He said he’s got thousands and thousands of chariots ready to do battle on my behalf (Psalm 68:17) if you try and mess with me like that again. And over some ice cream? Really?! That’s lowdown. 

Now, I am, in fact, going to be eating a bit healthier. You can do whatever you need to with that. But my sovereign Lord will help me (Isaiah 50:9), so I’m not too terribly concerned. You just might need to consider a different angle. If God is for me, who can be against me? 

Thanks,

Beth

11 Comments on “An Open Letter to Satan”

  1. Debbie says:

    I have the same battle – and the enemy tells me the same lies. Thanks for reminding me how powerful the sword is that God gave me – I just need to pick it up and wield it 🙂 (glad you’ll be back time to time)

  2. crystal says:

    Amen, Beth! I hate this struggle. I used to be so fantastically in shape that I was paid to advertise swimsuits and as I’ve aged and become less and less photogenic and more and more “voluptuous,” I have believed satan’s lies that I’m ugly and fat and unattractive, but I am learning to stand firm in my belief that my beauty doesn’t come from my looks – my beauty comes from who I am, how I treat others and how I serve Christ. For the record, Beth, I’ve seen you when you’ve lost weight and I’ve seen you when you haven’t and you are one of the most beautiful people I’ve ever met. Your eyes are so kind, caring and full of joy and your smile lights up a room. You have always looked beautiful and I mean that – my prayer is that you’ll believe it! So for me at least, the battle over my weight starts with me learning to feel good about myself no matter what I weigh and no matter how I look. My food choices will be more about living a healthy lifestyle than about making myself thin. I will not allow satan’s lies to affect me and more importantly, my daughter as she grows up. I don’t want her so obsessed with how she looks and I want her to see satan as the liar that he is. If we can’t believe that we’re beautiful because of who we are on the inside for ourselves, then we must at least do it for our daughters 🙂

  3. Lindsay says:

    I’m so glad you’re back, Beth! I just found your blog about a month ago through give1save1, and immediately fell in love with your quirky fun posts and beautiful pictures. I was sad that it would be done so soon after finding it. I love that your a bit flaky because I am too. Great post. I think that soooooooo many women, including myself, deal with those lies. Thanks for sharing.

  4. tonyagarrick says:

    Right there with you……just ate half a bag of potato chips yesterday and then bought some vitamins to help me feel better. Hmmm–I wonder why I’m tired;) When I skip my chips today (fingers crossed), I’ll say a little prayer for you, too, friend!

    • Beth Cupitt says:

      ha! chips and vitamins! yeah, i know! big revelation, that i feel better on chicken and veggies than on wine and dessert… somehow must figure out this moderation thing though…

  5. I’m such a flake too Beth! I’m glad you will continue blogging on your schedule. Your posts really inspire me!
    P.S. Way to tell Satan like it is (I am all about praying verses lately)!!

  6. Oh sweet Beth, I do so love you and your honesty! And absolutely, blog when you get the itch,we’ll be waiting! Oh the *other* topic, Girl, I think I have shared some of my story, re: food issues, with you before, can’t remember.. I almost died some yrs back from diabulimia(a serious form of bulimia) and food addiction, compulsive eating almost took me out too. I’ve been in recovery for 25 yrs but I can tell you that food issues are one tough little bugger.I am also a recovered in another area but food? It’s a kicker cause it’s the acceptable thing you know. And sweet Jesus, we don’t have to drink(well you know the alkie stuff) and we don’t have to use(as in drugs) but food? Well,we gotta eat.

    As a pastor’s wife, then missionaries wife, I appeared to have it all together. Then when I’d retreat home after our mtgs, put my kids to bed and drag out my drugs, AKA food and eat in secret, feeling horrible guilt, leaving me smiling on the outside, winning folks to Jesus and feeling suicidal inside. We all got *stuff* and I am so glad that there’s help out there, no matter if our problem is little or big, which mine was. I so admire you for sharing about your struggle, no matter how big or small and for trusting us with this. You have my prayers and support and most of all, my love.


Say Hello!

