And Then We Moved.

So, long time no see. I totally dropped off the planet for a couple of weeks out of necessity. I guess we’re friends, right? So you should know what’s up over here. Well, here’s the scoop. Since we moved to the country I have loved and hated it. I LOVE the house (even the little ghetto parts) and the cows and the quiet and the space. It doesn’t bother me how isolated physically I was. I’ve been far more isolated with people close to me. But the thing that got me was that I missed my husband too much. I know one million women who’ve held down the fort while their husbands travel much of the week and I thought I could be like that. If I was honest with myself I should have known that that would not work for us. I do feel like God gift-wrapped that particular house for us and that we should be there, but I think we should be there together. I knew that before we left, deep down, so failing shouldn’t have been a shock. The kids missed their dad too much and I’m just not really an independent kind of gal. 

Fast forward to now… we’re back in Houston and the country house is still there. We’ll use it as a vacation house for now until we figure out what it’s supposed to be. I’m gun shy now and a little blue. I’m confused about where God wants me and how to fix what I clearly botched. So I’ve been wallowing a bit for a few weeks. 

But yesterday started a new thing. I don’t know what God’s grand plan is for me or this house or that house or some business or some ministry. And I figure today that it’s not my job to try and cling on to what I think it might be. I can just go one day at a time and focus on what I’m clearly called to do. Today, without question, I’m supposed to be a wife and mother to the best of my ability. To take care of this house, the one I’m in. And the people that are around me. That’s enough to think about for now. 

So sorry that’s a downer. That’s partly why I haven’t blogged anything. Nothing completely wonderful to say, just where I am. I’m totally fine. I’m just nesting a bit. Thanks for popping by and I’ll be back in just a few days, surely, when I’m a little more chipper and we’ll talk about something hilarious or insightful or something like that. 

2 Comments on “And Then We Moved.”

  1. crystal says:

    I couldn’t have done it either. I honestly have no idea how couples who have to be separated do it. And it’s not gloomy to me at all, I think it’s kind of sweet that you guys are that close. ❤

  2. Debbie says:

    Hard decision to be sure but sounds like it was the right one cause it’s the best for the 5 of you. Bonus – you have your real girlfriends close by now to do that bible study you were wanting to start. 🙂


Say Hello!

